About Us



Nkwanta South Municipal Assembly is one of the nine districts in the Oti Region. The district was carved out of the Kete-Krachi District in 1989 operating under the name Nkwanta District Assembly. Following the creation of the Nkwanta North District in 2008, the Nkwanta District Assembly operated under a new L.I. 1892 of 2008 with a new name - Nkwanta South District Assembly. subsequently, following the creation of the Oti Region, the Assembly was elevated to a Municipal status and inaugurated on 15th May, 2017 with a new LI 2283. Its administrative capital is at Nkwanta.

The General Assembly has a membership of forty-five (45) made up of thirty (30) elected members, thirteen (13) government appointees, the Municipal Chief Executive and one Member of Parliament. The Assembly has three (3) Zonal Councils and sixty (60) Unit Committees. The Zonal Councils are Nkwanta Zonal Council, Ntrubo Zonal Council, and Tutukpene/Kecheibi Zonal Council

The Nkwanta South Municipal is located at in the Oti Region and covers a land area of about 2,733 sq. km, representing 14.7% of the total land area of the region thus making it the largest Municipal in the region. The Municipal is bounded to the north by Nkwanta North District, to the south by the Kadjebi District, to the east by the Republic of Togo and to the west by Krachi East District.


The 2021 Population and Housing Census put the Municipal’s population at 135,936 comprising of 68,143 males and 67,793 females with an annual population change of 1.3% and a population density of 55.61 persons per sq. km. Children constitute 41.6 percent of total population composition.

Ethnic Profile

The ethnic composition of the Municipal is very diverse. The major ethnic groups in the Municipal are the Ntrubo, the Adele, the Atwode, the Challa and the Konkomba. The rest are the Ewe, the Akan, the Kotokoli and the Basare. The chiefs of these ethnic groups provide leadership in their communities in undertaking self – help projects and helping the Assembly in maintaining law and order in their areas of jurisdiction. Traditional authorities wield a lot of influence especially in the rural areas. The Municipal has about 316 settlements with about 75% of the population living in the rural areas with untarred road network. Some major towns in the Municipal include Nkwanta, Brewaniase, Bonakye, Keri, Kecheibi, Shiare, Kabiti, Kue, Pusupu and Ashiabre.



To become a highly efficient socio-economic service provider that creates an enabling environment for resource mobilization in partnership with stakeholders for sustained poverty reduction.



Nkwanta South Municipal Assembly exists to facilitate improvement in the general quality of life of the people in the district through effective sensitization, mobilization of material resources and the promotion of socio-economic development to create an enabling environment for sustained poverty reduction within the context of governance.