NSMA Road Safety Committee Inaugurated

Hon. Felix Owusu-Gyimah, Municipal Chief Executive of Nkwanta South, (MCE), on Wednesday, May 22, 2024, inaugurated the Nkwanta South Municipal Assembly Road Safety Committee in compliance with the directive from Ministry of Local Government, Decentralization and Rural Development.

All MMDAS were sensitized by the National Road Safety Authority (NRSA) on section 12 (5) and 29 of the National Road Safety Act, 2019 (Act 996 ) and Regulation 63 of the National Road Safety Regulations 2022 (L1 2468) during the orientation for DPAT VII.

The Act 996 AND LI 2463 provides that: Regional offices of the Authority are required to collaborate with Road Safety units of MMDAS to form District Road Safety committees (DRSCS). The Authority shall collaborate with District Assemblies and relevant bodies to develop guidelines for issuing commercial roads transport operating permit and enforce regulations.

Membership of the DRSC shall comprise, but not limited to the following: District Assembly Coordinating Director (Chair), National Road Safety Authority, Local Transport Union Representative, Representative from the Local Traditional Bodies, representative from the Police, representative from local media, representative from the road agencies, representative from Local Health Services, an Assembly member, Head, Department of Transport as Focal Person & Secretary ( or Planning officer where no Transport Head exist).

The committee is expected to start work immediately.

Compiled by MIS Team: Emmanuel Sappor & Daniel Ahiatrogah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *